League Rules

  1. This competition is open to all riders of all British Cycling road racing categories whether they are in a club or a private member. Riders must affiliate to the League in order to be included in the competition and score points. Affiliation from riders/clubs outside of London and the SE are also welcome.
  1. Affiliation can be done either at individual level or club level. Club affiliation allows an unlimited number of women from the club to take part in the LWCR League. Affiliation is done by completing the form on the LWCR website.
  1. Affiliation can be done at any time during the year; however it must be done before the riders’ first LWCR League race as points accrued will not be added retrospectively.
  1. Every rider must race for her first claim cycling club as denoted on her British Cycling license. A rider may race for her second claim cycling club if her first claim club is not affiliated to British Cycling for road racing activities.  In the case of time trials, please see rule 9 below.
  1. The LWCR League is primarily an individual competition with rankings focusing on the performance of individual racers. Prizes are awarded to individual racers at the end of the road racing season. Prizes will also be awarded to clubs, but this is secondary to the competition. There is no limit to the size of a club's participation (or team) in the League. The LWCR League prizes will be awarded at a prizegiving event at the end of the road racing season.
  1. If a rider changes club during the road racing season her points to date will stay with her previous club.  Any new points she gains afterwards will go to her new club.
  1. At sign-on, riders should put an “L” in front of their name so that judges are aware that they are participating in the LWCR League.
  1. Races designated in this league take place under the rules of their respective governing bodies – British Cycling or Cycling Time Trials.
  1. Riders must therefore have the appropriate licence/membership to those governing bodies.
    1. Possession of a British Cycling Racing Licence (or day licence) for the road/circuit races.
    2. Club affiliation to Cycling Time Trials for the open time trials should the LWCR include any of those events. Note that affiliation to CTT is not required for "Come and Try" events such as the Richmond Park TT.  Therefore, in the case where riders belong to a different club for time trialling as for road racing, they will be awarded points as follows.  Individual points are as per rule 12 below.  In the club competition for "Come and Try" TTs, their points will be credited to their LWCR-declared British Cycling club.  In the club competition for open TTs, their points will be credited to whichever club they are racing for on the day (either CTT or BC). For the club to receive those points it will need to be affiliated to LWCR. Alternatively, the rider can take out individual membership to LWCR.
  1. Racers are awarded points according to their finishing position compared with other LWCR League riders in the given race, not according to their absolute finishing position.

  2. Points are awarded to all LWCR League riders, right down to the last finisher. This includes those who are racing on a day licence. Riders who start but do not finish will be awarded 0 (zero) points, allowing their race to be counted towards final positions.
  1. In a race, riders are awarded LWCR League points in the order as shown below. Riders who finish below 27th place will be awarded one point each.


  1. The points awarded to a club will be the sum of the points scored by its top three riders in the race, plus one point for every other rider in the club who completed the race. There is no limit to the number of riders from a club that can take part in a race.
  1. The results of the best 5 races out of a possible 9 will count towards the final ranking of a rider in the LWCR League, and also for the club’s overall ranking. Only riders who have competed in 5 races will qualify for the top 20 prizes at the end of the season. Other prizes will not be dependent on number of races ridden. If any races are cancelled, then the number of races to be ridden to qualify for prizes will be reduced accordingly.
  1. Where there is a tie break, a count back will be done and the rider with the higher finishing positions through the series is judged as the winner.
  1. While every effort is made to stick to the schedule of LWCR League races, there may be cause to change the order of the LWCR League races due to cancellation of events or other reasons. We therefore reserve the right to alter the race schedule at any time during the season. LWCR League members will be notified immediately of any changes to the calendar, and we will aim to give as much notice as possible.
  1. At the end of each race, a League leader will be designated on the basis of the number of LWCR League points she has accumulated so far in the road racing season.
  1. The LWCR is run by a small number of volunteers acting as chair, secretary, treasurer and general workhorse. We count on support and help from affiliated teams and riders to make the league a success. Please get involved and help out where you can!