Monday 4 October 2010

London Women's League Prize Giving

Resounding Success in its Inaugural Year

London, 1st October 2010. The London Women’s Cycle Racing League prize giving was hosted by Look Mum No Hands Café, the main sponsor of the series, on Thursday 30th September.
Various prizes were awarded to riders who had shown outstanding performances during the inaugural year of the 12-race series. The riders took the racing very seriously and enjoyed the regular competition on local road racing circuits. “It was good to be able to race against 39 other riders at Hog Hill, instead of the nine that you usually get,” said league winner, Maryka Sennema of Kingston Wheelers.
“This league has gone some way towards encouraging more women in London to get into racing, and has planted the seed for better things for next year,” said Rene Groot, DS of the winning club, Rapha Condor.

The organisers of the league are thrilled at how successful the league has been. “We are really happy with what the league has achieved, and it has gone beyond our expectations, especially in its first year.” said Maria David of LWCR, in front of a large audience. “We would like to thank all the sponsors, the race organisers and the riders who supported this initiative and made it a success.”
The league saw almost 80 women representing 18 clubs from London and the South East take part in the series, which ran from March to August of this year.

Individual Awards

1st Maryka Sennema (Kingston Wheelers)
2nd Elise Sherwell (Pearson Cycles)
3rd Claire Beaumont (Rapha Condor)
4th Mathilde Pauls (Pearson Cycles)
5th Sabine Homrighausen (Kingston Wheelers)
6th Natasha Perry (Rapha Condor)
7th Emily Bagnall (Kingston Wheelers)
8th Vikki Filsell (Pearson Cycles)
9th Rachel Przybylski (Rapha Condor)
10th Natalie Cresswick (Twickenham CC)
11th Dyanne Holland (Dulwich Paragon)
12th Hannah Bowers (Mule Bar Girls)
13th Astrid Wingler (London Phoenix)
14th Emma Patterson (London Dynamo)
15th Anna Grundy (East London Velo)
16th Helen McKay (London Phoenix)
17th Louise Mahe (Mule Bar Girls)
18th Rebecca Curley (Rapha Condor)
19th Emma Grant (Rapha Condor)
20th Lauren Whitmore (London Dynamo)

Most Improved Rider – Lydia Boylan (London Dynamo)
Best New Rider – Helen McKay (London Phoenix)
Rider Showing the Most Commitment – Vikki Filsell (Pearson Cycles)
Combattivity Prize – Emily Bagnall (Kingston Wheelers)
Lanterne Rouge – Leila Smith (Dulwich Paragon)
Club with the Highest number of participants – London Dynamo

Club Awards

1st Rapha Condor - Emily Barnes, Tracy Corbett, Katie Fearnehough, Emma Grant, Rebecca Curley, Rachel Przybylski, Natasha Perry, Claire Beaumont.

2nd Pearson Cycles – Bernie O’Donovan, Helen Keaton, Melissa Brand, Louise Fellingham, Charlotte Blackman, Katherine Holloway, Charmaine Brown, Vikki Filsell, Mathilde Pauls, Elise Sherwell.

3rd Kingston Wheelers - Hilary Hillhouse, Lise Sorenson, Emily Bagnall, Sabine Homrighausen, Maryka Sennema.

4th London Dynamo - Emily-Ann Bowden, Tessa Pugh, Kylie Lindsay, Antonia de Barton-Watson, Ruth Clifton, Rebecca Lodge, Rachel Armitage, Lydia Boylan, Jessica Mitchell, Rebecca Slack, Lauren Whitmore, Emma Patterson.

5th Dulwich Paragon - (Leila Smith, Karen Price, Rachel Brookes, Kate Butler, Delia Beddis, Claire Summers, Charlotte Roberge, Maria David, Dyanne Holland.

The following people and organisations were warmly thanked for making it all possible:
All the local clubs, Glyn Durrant at Surrey League, Mark Doel (British Cycling) All the race organisers: Lesley Everest, Graham Galvin (Hog Hill), George Slater (Crystal Palace), Stuart Benstead and Gino Howe (National Series events), Jen and Simon Mitchell at Kingston Phoenix (SE Champs), James Pope (Smithfield Nocturne) Tamar Collis at Addiscombe CC, Rebecca Slack at London Dynamo (time trials) and John Mullineaux (LondonCycleSport/Cross-Crazy)
Look Mum No Hands, Stability, Cycle Surgery, Bean About Town, Jim Walker, Condor Cycles, Mule Bar, De Ver Cycles, AnaNichoola

(photos courtesy of Dave Hayward)